Fehmarn Places of Interest
Fehmarn Sound Bridge

Since it was opened on 30 April 1963, the Fehmarn Sound Bridge has connected the south of the island to the Schleswig-Holstein mainland. Also affectionately referred to as the "Kleiderbügel" or clothes hanger, it replaced the ferry services that operated up to then between Großenbroderfähre and the town of Fehmarnsund. It was listed as a protected monument in 1999.

The bridge forms part of the "Vogelfluglinie" (bird flight line), a direct transport corridor between the greater Copenhagen and Hamburg areas that has been developed since the 1960s. This route takes its name from the parallel route taken by the Cranes and other Arctic water birds travelling between Central Europe and Scandinavia. The nature reserves on Fehmarn are important stopovers for birds migrating between breeding grounds and winter shelter areas.

The bridge also enabled the completion of an 18-kilometre single railway track from Großenbrode to Puttgarden, Federal Highway 207 from Heiligenhafen to Puttgarden as well as the ferry railway station and ferry port in Puttgarden - the starting point of the 19-kilometre ferry route to Rödby in Denmark. The extension of the "Vogelfluglinie" was the largest construction project in Schleswig Holstein at the end of the 1950s and led to the rapid expansion of the tourist industry on Fehmarn.

Technical Data


The 963-metre-long combined road and railway bridge spans the 1300-metre-wide Fehmarn Sound and has a height clearance of 23 metres over the water at its central section. Shipping can pass beneath its central section, which measures 240 metres across and has a height clearance of 23 metres above sea level. The steel construction is 21 metres wide, 6 metres of which is used by Deutsche Bahn. The arch has a span of 248 metres and, at its highest point, 45 metres above the main deck of the bridge. The arch is approximately 268.5 metres long.
youtube
facebook

Sehenswürdigkeiten Fehmarn
Fehmarnsundbrücke

Seit ihrer Inbetriebnahme am 30. April 1963 verbindet die Fehmarnsundbrücke den Süden der Insel mit dem schleswig-holsteinischen Festland. Im Volksmund liebevoll auch „Kleiderbügel“ genannt, ersetzt sie seitdem den Fährbetrieb zwischen Großenbroderfähre und dem Ort Fehmarnsund und steht seit 1999 unter Denkmalschutz.
Fehmarnsundbrücke aus Froschperspektive
Fehmarnsundbrücke aus Froschperspektive
Die Brücke ist Teil der Vogelfluglinie, der seit den 1960er Jahren ausgebauten direkten Verkehrsroute zwischen den Großräumen Kopenhagen und Hamburg. Namensgeber war die parallel verlaufende Flugroute der Kraniche und anderer arktischer Wasservögel zwischen Mitteleuropa und Skandinavien. Die Naturschutzgebiete Fehmarns sind ein begehrter Rastplatz für die im Frühjahr und Herbst zwischen Brut- und Überwinterungsgebieten ziehenden Vögel.

Außerdem entstanden eine 18 Kilometer lange eingleisige Bahnstrecke von Großenbrode bis Puttgarden, die Bundesstraße 207 von Heiligenhafen bis Puttgarden sowie der Fährbahnhof und der Fährhafen in Puttgarden, Startpunkt der 19 Kilometer langen Fährverbindung nach Rödby in Dänemark. Der Ausbau der Vogelfluglinie war Ende der 1950er Jahre die größte Baustelle Schleswig-Holsteins und führte auf Fehmarn zu einer rasanten Tourismusentwicklung.

Technische Daten

Fehmarnsundbrücke mit blühendem Rapsfeld
Fehmarnsundbrücke mit blühendem Rapsfeld
Die 963 Meter lange kombinierte Straßen- und Eisenbahnbrücke überquert den 1300 Meter breiten Fehmarnsund und hat eine lichte Höhe von 23 Metern über dem Mittelwasser. Für den Schiffsverkehr bietet sie einen Durchgang von 240 Metern Breite und eine Durchfahrtshöhe von 23m über NN. Die Stahlkonstruktion ist 21 Meter breit, wovon 6 Meter von der Deutschen Bahn genutzt werden. 248 Meter beträgt die Spannweite des Bogens, der 45 Meter über der Fahrbahn seinen höchsten Punkt hat. Der Bogen ist ca. 268,5 m lang.

youtube
facebook